# Planned developments in Smithfield, VA

Boardwalk found 45 planned projects in Smithfield, VA in public filings from the last 12 months, mostly residential and commercial. The latest is on the Town of Smithfield Board of Historic & Architectural Review (BHAR) agenda for Aug 18, 2026.

Data as of Oct 11, 2026. Updated monthly. Page: https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/smithfield/

## Smithfield at a glance

| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Projects, last 12 months | 45 |
| New in the last 30 days | 0 |
| Most common type | Govt. Decisions |
| Latest filing | Aug 18, 2026, Town of Smithfield Board of Historic & Architectural Review (BHAR) |
| Sources we check | 5 |

Last 12 months, duplicates merged. Includes private, public, and small jobs. How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count

## What's planned in Smithfield

By type, last 12 months.

| Type | Projects | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Development decisions | 18 | 40% |
| Residential | 13 | 29% |
| Commercial | 11 | 24% |
| Infrastructure | 2 | 4% |
| Public and institutional | 1 | 2% |

## Recent projects in Smithfield

| Project | Developer | Type | Size | Stage | Latest meeting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Take 5 Oil Change Facility | Driven Brands | Auto repair | Not stated in filing | Seeking approval | Jul 14, 2026 |
| Office Building Development | 757 Building Company | Office | Not stated in filing | Seeking approval | Jul 14, 2026 |
| 4.94-Acre Retail Development | Smithfield Retail Management LLC | Stores and shopping centers | 4.94 acres | Seeking approval | Mar 10, 2026 |
| 7.35-Acre Sheetz Convenience Store Development | Interstate Realty | Gas stations and convenience stores | 7.35 acres | Seeking approval | Feb 10, 2026 |
| 14-Tree Roadside Management Program | Hutton Smithfield VA ST LLC | Car washes | 14 acres | Approved | Nov 12, 2025 |

Showing 5 of 45 projects. A free trial opens the full records and documents.

Samples show projects filed by companies or public bodies.

## Nearby places

- Windsor, VA · 5 projects
- Wakefield, VA · 8 projects
- Wakefield, VA · Checked, no projects in 12 months
- Claremont, VA · Checked, no projects in 12 months
- Waverly, VA · Checked, no projects in 12 months
- West Point, VA · 7 projects

All places in Virginia: [Virginia](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/)

## Questions about Smithfield

### What's planned in Smithfield, VA?

Boardwalk found 45 planned projects in Smithfield, VA in the last 12 months, mostly residential and commercial. The latest is on the Town of Smithfield Board of Historic & Architectural Review (BHAR) agenda for Aug 18, 2026.

### Where does this data come from?

Boardwalk's Smithfield projects come from public meeting records, such as Town of Smithfield Board of Historic & Architectural Review (BHAR) agendas and minutes. Each one links to the original filing.

### How current is it?

Boardwalk checks Smithfield's public records at least once a week; the last check was Oct 10, 2026. These counts are as of Oct 11, 2026 and refresh monthly.

### Can I get an Alert for new Smithfield projects?

Yes, a Boardwalk Alert emails you new Smithfield projects daily, weekly, or monthly. Start with a 7-day free trial, no credit card needed.

## Get the full data

- **Count for free.** Connect Boardwalk to Claude or ChatGPT and ask how many projects match. Counting is free during your trial and on every plan. [Use it in Claude or ChatGPT](https://boardwalkai.com/mcp/)
- **Open the records.** Start a 7-day free trial, no credit card. It includes 50 project records. [Start free trial](https://boardwalkai.com/auth/signup/)
- **Use it in your tools.** CSV export, the API, and the MCP server come with every plan. [API docs](https://boardwalkai.com/docs/api/)
- **Download these numbers.** [smithfield.json](https://boardwalkai.com/data/places/virginia/smithfield.json) · [smithfield.md](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/smithfield/index.md)

## How to cite

Source: Boardwalk, "Planned developments in Smithfield, VA", boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/smithfield/, data as of Oct 11, 2026.

How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count
