# Planned developments in Cumberland County, VA

Boardwalk found 26 planned projects in Cumberland County, VA in public filings from the last 12 months, mostly infrastructure and commercial. The latest is on the Cumberland County Planning Commission agenda for Aug 26, 2026.

Data as of Oct 19, 2026. Updated monthly. Page: https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/cumberland/

## Cumberland County at a glance

| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Projects, last 12 months | 26 |
| New in the last 30 days | 0 |
| Most common type | Infrastructure |
| Latest filing | Aug 26, 2026, Cumberland County Planning Commission |
| Sources we check | 4 |

Last 12 months, duplicates merged. Includes private, public, and small jobs. How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count

## What's planned in Cumberland County

By type, last 12 months.

| Type | Projects | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Infrastructure | 13 | 50% |
| Commercial | 10 | 38% |
| Development decisions | 1 | 4% |
| Public and institutional | 1 | 4% |
| Residential | 1 | 4% |

## Recent projects in Cumberland County

| Project | Location | Developer | Type | Size | Stage | Latest meeting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cumberland Energy Center Utility Facility Review Period Extension | Cumberland County, VA | Virginia Electric and Power Company | Utilities | Not stated in filing | Approved | Aug 11, 2026 |
| Courthouse Project RFP | Cumberland County, VA | Not stated | Government offices | Not stated in filing | Denied | Jun 9, 2026 |
| Power Generating Facility Infrastructure Project | Cumberland County, VA | Dominion Energy Virginia | Utilities | Not stated in filing | Approved | May 5, 2026 |
| Dollar General Retail Development | Cumberland County, VA | Valco Investments | Retail | Not stated in filing | Early planning | Jan 8, 2026 |
| $300K Grocery Store Loan and $149K Grant Package | Cumberland County, VA | Cumberland VA Grocery, LLC | Grocery stores | Not stated in filing | Approved | Dec 22, 2025 |
| 197-Foot Monopole Wireless Telecommunications Facility | Cumberland County, VA | Arcola Towers | Telecom towers | 72.4 acres | Seeking approval | Oct 20, 2025 |
| 8MW Solar Energy Project across three sites | Cumberland County, VA | Summit Ridge Energy | Solar farms | Not stated in filing | Seeking approval | Oct 20, 2025 |

Showing 7 of 26 projects. A free trial opens the full records and documents.

Samples show projects filed by companies or public bodies.

## Nearby places

- [Buckingham County, VA](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/buckingham/) · 41 projects
- [Amelia County, VA](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/amelia/) · 58 projects
- [Powhatan County, VA](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/powhatan/) · 68 projects
- [Goochland County, VA](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/goochland/) · 180+ projects
- [Fluvanna County, VA](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/fluvanna/) · 72 projects
- [Prince Edward County, VA](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/prince-edward/) · 51 projects

All places in Virginia: [Virginia](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/)

## Questions about Cumberland County

### What's planned in Cumberland County, VA?

Boardwalk found 26 planned projects in Cumberland County, VA in the last 12 months, mostly infrastructure and commercial. The latest is on the Cumberland County Planning Commission agenda for Aug 26, 2026.

### Where does this data come from?

Boardwalk's Cumberland County projects come from public meeting records, such as Cumberland County Planning Commission agendas and minutes. Each one links to the original filing.

### How current is it?

Boardwalk checks Cumberland County's public records at least once a week; the last check was Oct 18, 2026. These counts are as of Oct 19, 2026 and refresh monthly.

### Can I get an Alert for new Cumberland County projects?

Yes, a Boardwalk Alert emails you new Cumberland County projects daily, weekly, or monthly. Start with a 7-day free trial, no credit card needed.

## Get the full data

- **Count for free.** Connect Boardwalk to Claude or ChatGPT and ask how many projects match. Counting is free during your trial and on every plan. [Use it in Claude or ChatGPT](https://boardwalkai.com/mcp/)
- **Open the records.** Start a 7-day free trial, no credit card. It includes 50 project records. [Start free trial](https://boardwalkai.com/auth/signup/)
- **Use it in your tools.** CSV export, the API, and the MCP server come with every plan. [API docs](https://boardwalkai.com/docs/api/)
- **Download these numbers.** [cumberland.json](https://boardwalkai.com/data/places/virginia/cumberland.json) · [cumberland.md](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/cumberland/index.md)

## How to cite

Source: Boardwalk, "Planned developments in Cumberland County, VA", boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/cumberland/, data as of Oct 19, 2026.

How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count
