# Planned developments in Charlottesville, VA

Boardwalk found 110+ planned projects in Charlottesville, VA in public filings from the last 12 months. The latest is on the Charlottesville Planning Commission agenda for Oct 13, 2026.

Data as of Oct 19, 2026. Updated monthly. Page: https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/charlottesville-city/

## Charlottesville at a glance

| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Projects, last 12 months | 110+ |
| New in the last 30 days | 5 |
| Most common type | Residential |
| Latest filing | Oct 13, 2026, Charlottesville Planning Commission |
| Sources we check | 1 |

Last 12 months, duplicates merged. Includes private, public, and small jobs. How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count

## What's planned in Charlottesville

By type, last 12 months.

| Type | Projects | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Residential | 45 | 39% |
| Development decisions | 33 | 29% |
| Public and institutional | 17 | 15% |
| Infrastructure | 11 | 10% |
| Commercial | 5 | 4% |
| Mixed use | 3 | 3% |

## Recent projects in Charlottesville

| Project | Location | Developer | Type | Size | Stage | Latest meeting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Multi-Story Mixed-Use Building at 915 East High Street | Charlottesville, VA | Two Street Studio | Homes and businesses | Not stated in filing | Seeking approval | Aug 18, 2026 |
| $1.4M Trailblazer (Venable) School Interior Modernization | Charlottesville, VA | Not stated | Schools | Not stated in filing | Out to bid | Jul 8, 2026 |
| $1.4M Walker Temporary Pre-K Center Outdoor Learning Space | Charlottesville, VA | Not stated | Schools | Not stated in filing | Out to bid | Jul 8, 2026 |
| Valley Road Townhomes | Charlottesville, VA | The Gaines Group | Townhomes | 9 townhomes | Seeking approval | May 19, 2026 |
| Solar Power Purchase Agreement for Charlottesville Middle School | Charlottesville, VA | Not stated | Power plants | Not stated in filing | Approved | May 18, 2026 |
| Botanical Gardens of the Piedmont Critical Slope Special Exception | Charlottesville, VA | Botanical Gardens of the Piedmont | Parks | Not stated in filing | Recommended | May 12, 2026 |
| Fontaine Avenue Streetscape Design Improvement | Charlottesville, VA | Not stated | Roads and highways | Not stated in filing | In design | Apr 27, 2026 |
| 73-Unit Mixed-Use Development with Affordable Housing | Charlottesville, VA | Piedmont Housing Authority | Affordable (LIHTC) housing | 73 units | Approved | Apr 14, 2026 |
| 71-Unit Mixed-Use Development with Affordable Housing | Charlottesville, VA | Piedmont Housing Alliance | Affordable (LIHTC) housing | 71 units | Approved | Apr 6, 2026 |
| 274-Unit Affordable Housing Redevelopment | Charlottesville, VA | Charlottesville Redevelopment and Housing Authority | Affordable (LIHTC) housing | 274 units | Approved | Mar 2, 2026 |
| 40-Unit Community Services Housing Preservation Project | Charlottesville, VA | Not stated | Residential | 40 units | Early planning | Jan 29, 2026 |
| $6.2M Acquisition of 3.8-Acre Office Site for Low-Barrier Shelter | Charlottesville, VA | MIS PROPERTY, L.L.C. | Government buildings | 3.8 acres | Approved | Oct 6, 2025 |

Showing 12 of 110+ projects. A free trial opens the full records and documents.

Samples show projects filed by companies or public bodies.

## Nearby places

- Albemarle County, VA · 20 projects
- [Fluvanna County, VA](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/fluvanna/) · 72 projects
- [Greene County, VA](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/greene/) · 30 projects
- [Waynesboro, VA](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/waynesboro-city/) · 70 projects
- [Louisa County, VA](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/louisa/) · 81 projects
- [Nelson County, VA](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/nelson/) · 33 projects

All places in Virginia: [Virginia](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/)

## Questions about Charlottesville

### What's planned in Charlottesville, VA?

Boardwalk found 110+ planned projects in Charlottesville, VA in the last 12 months. The latest is on the Charlottesville Planning Commission agenda for Oct 13, 2026.

### Where does this data come from?

Boardwalk's Charlottesville projects come from public meeting records, such as Charlottesville Planning Commission agendas and minutes. Each one links to the original filing.

### How current is it?

Boardwalk checks Charlottesville's public records at least once a week; the last check was Oct 16, 2026. These counts are as of Oct 19, 2026 and refresh monthly.

### Can I get an Alert for new Charlottesville projects?

Yes, a Boardwalk Alert emails you new Charlottesville projects daily, weekly, or monthly. Start with a 7-day free trial, no credit card needed.

## Get the full data

- **Count for free.** Connect Boardwalk to Claude or ChatGPT and ask how many projects match. Counting is free during your trial and on every plan. [Use it in Claude or ChatGPT](https://boardwalkai.com/mcp/)
- **Open the records.** Start a 7-day free trial, no credit card. It includes 50 project records. [Start free trial](https://boardwalkai.com/auth/signup/)
- **Use it in your tools.** CSV export, the API, and the MCP server come with every plan. [API docs](https://boardwalkai.com/docs/api/)
- **Download these numbers.** [charlottesville-city.json](https://boardwalkai.com/data/places/virginia/charlottesville-city.json) · [charlottesville-city.md](https://boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/charlottesville-city/index.md)

## How to cite

Source: Boardwalk, "Planned developments in Charlottesville, VA", boardwalkai.com/development/virginia/charlottesville-city/, data as of Oct 19, 2026.

How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count
