# Planned developments in Carlton County, MN

Boardwalk found 190+ planned projects in Carlton County, MN in public filings from the last 12 months. The latest is on the Cloquet City Council agenda for Oct 6, 2026.

Data as of Oct 19, 2026. Updated monthly. Page: https://boardwalkai.com/development/minnesota/carlton/

## Carlton County at a glance

| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Projects, last 12 months | 190+ |
| New in the last 30 days | 1 |
| Most common type | Infrastructure |
| Latest filing | Oct 6, 2026, Cloquet City Council |
| Sources we check | 4 |

Last 12 months, duplicates merged. Includes private, public, and small jobs. How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count

## What's planned in Carlton County

By type, last 12 months.

| Type | Projects | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Infrastructure | 65 | 34% |
| Commercial | 30 | 16% |
| Development decisions | 29 | 15% |
| Residential | 28 | 15% |
| Public and institutional | 27 | 14% |
| Industrial | 9 | 5% |
| Agricultural | 2 | 1% |

## Recent projects in Carlton County

| Project | Location | Developer | Type | Size | Stage | Latest meeting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $2.24M Pine Valley Recreation Area Rehabilitation | Cloquet, MN | Not stated | Parks | Not stated in filing | Approved | Oct 6, 2026 |
| 2.2-Mile Street Resurfacing and Curb Repair Project | Big Lake, MN | Not stated | Roads and highways | Not stated in filing | Early planning | Sep 16, 2026 |
| 550,000-Sqft Manufacturing Facility | Big Lake, MN | Packaging Corporation of America | Industrial | 115 acres | Seeking approval | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Big Lake Skate Park Development | Big Lake, MN | Not stated | Parks | Not stated in filing | In design | Aug 19, 2026 |
| 9,566-Square-Foot Les Schwab Tire Center | Cloquet, MN | Les Schwab Tire Center | Service businesses | Not stated in filing | Approved | Jul 14, 2026 |
| 9,566-Square-Foot Tire Center | Cloquet, MN | Les Schwab Tire Centers | Service businesses | Not stated in filing | Approved | Jul 7, 2026 |
| 48-Unit Apartment Development | Big Lake, MN | Sand Development, LLC | Apartments | 48 apartments | Early planning | Jun 17, 2026 |
| 40-Acre Solar Energy Conversion Facility | Carlton County, MN | US Solar Development LLC | Power plants | 129.5 acres | Approved | Apr 27, 2026 |
| 5-Lot Residential Subdivision on 2 Acres | Cloquet, MN | Not stated | Residential | 5 units · 2 acres | Approved | Apr 1, 2026 |
| 0.33-Acre Land Acquisition for Water Treatment Facility | Cromwell, MN | Not stated | Water treatment plants | 0.33 acres | Approved | Feb 18, 2026 |

Showing 10 of 190+ projects. A free trial opens the full records and documents.

Samples show projects filed by companies or public bodies.

## Cities in Carlton County

- [Big Lake (Carlton County), MN](https://boardwalkai.com/development/minnesota/big-lake-carlton/) · 56 projects
- [Cloquet, MN](https://boardwalkai.com/development/minnesota/cloquet/) · 45 projects
- [Moose Lake, MN](https://boardwalkai.com/development/minnesota/moose-lake/) · 27 projects
- Wrenshall, MN · 11 projects
- Cromwell, MN · 9 projects
- Carlton, MN · 4 projects
- Scanlon, MN · 4 projects
- Wright, MN · 2 projects
- Barnum, MN · Checked, no projects in 12 months
- Kettle River, MN · Checked, no projects in 12 months

## Nearby places

- [Pine County, MN](https://boardwalkai.com/development/minnesota/pine/) · 190+ projects
- [Aitkin County, MN](https://boardwalkai.com/development/minnesota/aitkin/) · 83 projects
- [Kanabec County, MN](https://boardwalkai.com/development/minnesota/kanabec/) · 27 projects
- Mille Lacs County, MN · 18 projects
- [Crow Wing County, MN](https://boardwalkai.com/development/minnesota/crow-wing/) · 570+ projects
- [Isanti County, MN](https://boardwalkai.com/development/minnesota/isanti/) · 160+ projects

All places in Minnesota: [Minnesota](https://boardwalkai.com/development/minnesota/)

## Questions about Carlton County

### What's planned in Carlton County, MN?

Boardwalk found 190+ planned projects in Carlton County, MN in the last 12 months. The latest is on the Cloquet City Council agenda for Oct 6, 2026.

### Where does this data come from?

Boardwalk's Carlton County projects come from public meeting records, such as Cloquet City Council agendas and minutes. Each one links to the original filing.

### How current is it?

Boardwalk checks Carlton County's public records at least once a week; the last check was Oct 19, 2026. These counts are as of Oct 19, 2026 and refresh monthly.

### Can I get an Alert for new Carlton County projects?

Yes, a Boardwalk Alert emails you new Carlton County projects daily, weekly, or monthly. Start with a 7-day free trial, no credit card needed.

## Get the full data

- **Count for free.** Connect Boardwalk to Claude or ChatGPT and ask how many projects match. Counting is free during your trial and on every plan. [Use it in Claude or ChatGPT](https://boardwalkai.com/mcp/)
- **Open the records.** Start a 7-day free trial, no credit card. It includes 50 project records. [Start free trial](https://boardwalkai.com/auth/signup/)
- **Use it in your tools.** CSV export, the API, and the MCP server come with every plan. [API docs](https://boardwalkai.com/docs/api/)
- **Download these numbers.** [carlton.json](https://boardwalkai.com/data/places/minnesota/carlton.json) · [carlton.md](https://boardwalkai.com/development/minnesota/carlton/index.md)

## How to cite

Source: Boardwalk, "Planned developments in Carlton County, MN", boardwalkai.com/development/minnesota/carlton/, data as of Oct 19, 2026.

How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count
