# Planned developments in Independence, IA

Boardwalk found 62 planned projects in Independence, IA in public filings from the last 12 months.

Data as of Oct 11, 2026. Updated monthly. Page: https://boardwalkai.com/development/iowa/independence/

## Independence at a glance

| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Projects, last 12 months | 62 |
| New in the last 30 days | 0 |
| Most common type | Govt. Decisions |
| Latest filing | May 26, 2026, City Council Staff |
| Sources we check | 1 |

Last 12 months, duplicates merged. Includes private, public, and small jobs. How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count

## What's planned in Independence

By type, last 12 months.

| Type | Projects | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Development decisions | 23 | 37% |
| Residential | 20 | 32% |
| Infrastructure | 6 | 10% |
| Commercial | 6 | 10% |
| Public and institutional | 4 | 6% |
| Mixed use | 2 | 3% |
| Industrial | 1 | 2% |

## Recent projects in Independence

| Project | Developer | Type | Size | Stage | Latest meeting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3-Parcel Lot Combination for Manufacturing Expansion | Stealgard Inc. | Manufacturing | Not stated in filing | Recommended | May 26, 2026 |
| Snow Removal Equipment Acquisition for Independence Municipal Airport | Not stated | Airports | Not stated in filing | Out to bid | May 11, 2026 |
| $17K Fire Department Expansion Project Update | Not stated | Government buildings | Not stated in filing | In design | May 4, 2026 |
| Wastewater Treatment Plant Update | Not stated | Sewer and wastewater | Not stated in filing | Recommended | May 4, 2026 |
| Stormwater Infrastructure Additional Scope for The Pines | Not stated | Stormwater and drainage | Not stated in filing | In design | May 4, 2026 |
| $400K 1st Street West Reconstruction | Not stated | Transportation | Not stated in filing | Early planning | Apr 23, 2026 |
| Wastewater Treatment Plant Modifications Project | Not stated | Sewer and wastewater | Not stated in filing | Approved | Apr 13, 2026 |
| Pine Drive Rezoning to R-3 Multi-Family Residential | Not stated | Residential | Not stated in filing | Denied | Mar 23, 2026 |

Showing 8 of 62 projects. A free trial opens the full records and documents.

Samples show projects filed by companies or public bodies.

## Nearby places

- Winthrop, IA · 10 projects
- Quasqueton, IA · 5 projects
- Jesup, IA · 15 projects
- Hazleton, IA · Checked, no projects in 12 months
- Brandon, IA · 7 projects
- Walker, IA · 16 projects

All places in Iowa: [Iowa](https://boardwalkai.com/development/iowa/)

## Questions about Independence

### What's planned in Independence, IA?

Boardwalk found 62 planned projects in Independence, IA in the last 12 months.

### Where does this data come from?

Boardwalk's Independence projects come from public meeting records. Each one links to the original filing.

### How current is it?

Boardwalk checks Independence's public records at least once a week; the last check was Oct 10, 2026. These counts are as of Oct 11, 2026 and refresh monthly.

### Can I get an Alert for new Independence projects?

Yes, a Boardwalk Alert emails you new Independence projects daily, weekly, or monthly. Start with a 7-day free trial, no credit card needed.

## Get the full data

- **Count for free.** Connect Boardwalk to Claude or ChatGPT and ask how many projects match. Counting is free during your trial and on every plan. [Use it in Claude or ChatGPT](https://boardwalkai.com/mcp/)
- **Open the records.** Start a 7-day free trial, no credit card. It includes 50 project records. [Start free trial](https://boardwalkai.com/auth/signup/)
- **Use it in your tools.** CSV export, the API, and the MCP server come with every plan. [API docs](https://boardwalkai.com/docs/api/)
- **Download these numbers.** [independence.json](https://boardwalkai.com/data/places/iowa/independence.json) · [independence.md](https://boardwalkai.com/development/iowa/independence/index.md)

## How to cite

Source: Boardwalk, "Planned developments in Independence, IA", boardwalkai.com/development/iowa/independence/, data as of Oct 11, 2026.

How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count
