# Planned developments in Rockford, IL

Boardwalk found 200+ planned projects in Rockford, IL in public filings from the last 12 months. The latest is on the City of Rockford Zoning Board of Appeals agenda for Oct 5, 2026.

Data as of Oct 11, 2026. Updated monthly. Page: https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/rockford/

## Rockford at a glance

| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Projects, last 12 months | 200+ |
| New in the last 30 days | 13 |
| Most common type | Govt. Decisions |
| Latest filing | Oct 5, 2026, City of Rockford Zoning Board of Appeals |
| Sources we check | 9 |

Last 12 months, duplicates merged. Includes private, public, and small jobs. How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count

## What's planned in Rockford

By type, last 12 months.

| Type | Projects | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Development decisions | 63 | 31% |
| Infrastructure | 43 | 21% |
| Residential | 33 | 16% |
| Commercial | 28 | 14% |
| Industrial | 21 | 10% |
| Public and institutional | 8 | 4% |
| Mixed use | 7 | 3% |
| Agricultural | 1 | Under 1% |

## Recent projects in Rockford

| Project | Developer | Type | Size | Stage | Latest meeting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $125K 6th Street and 9th Street Two-Way Conversion Engineering | Not stated | Roads and highways | Not stated in filing | In design | Sep 28, 2026 |
| Harrison Avenue Bridge Rehabilitation Project Bid Rejection | Not stated | Bridges | Not stated in filing | Out to bid | Sep 28, 2026 |
| $1.2M Auburn Street Corridor Improvements Engineering Contract | Not stated | Roads and highways | Not stated in filing | Recommended | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Automotive Repair Shop Expansion | Phil's Garage | Service businesses | Not stated in filing | Seeking approval | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Solar Farm Development on Export Road | SolAmerica Energy | Power plants | Not stated in filing | Approved | Aug 24, 2026 |
| 20-Unit Single-Room Occupancy Development | Otis Estate LLC | Residential | 20 units | Recommended | Aug 24, 2026 |
| Automotive Repair Shop Expansion | Phil's Garage | Service businesses | Not stated in filing | Seeking approval | Aug 18, 2026 |
| 128-Bed Substance Use Disorder Treatment Facility | Alsos Behavioral Health | Hospitals and clinics | Not stated in filing | Seeking approval | Aug 18, 2026 |
| $300K Senior Center Funding for Living Well Center | Living Well Center of Northern Illinois | Community centers | Not stated in filing | Early planning | Aug 3, 2026 |
| 325 South Madison Street | Oliver Emerson Development | Apartments | 24 apartments | Approved | Jul 21, 2026 |
| 10-Unit Mixed-Use Development with Restaurant | Centennial United LLC | Apartments | 10 apartments | Approved | Jul 21, 2026 |
| 8-Unit Townhome Development at 966 North Court Street | Not stated | Townhomes | 8 townhomes | Approved | Jun 29, 2026 |

Showing 12 of 200+ projects. A free trial opens the full records and documents.

Samples show projects filed by companies or public bodies.

## Nearby places

- Loves Park, IL · 22 projects
- Machesney Park, IL · 28 projects
- New Milford, IL · 18 projects
- [Cherry Valley, IL](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/cherry-valley/) · 65 projects
- Winnebago, IL · 4 projects
- Argyle, IL · Checked, no projects in 12 months

All places in Illinois: [Illinois](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/)

## Questions about Rockford

### What's planned in Rockford, IL?

Boardwalk found 200+ planned projects in Rockford, IL in the last 12 months. The latest is on the City of Rockford Zoning Board of Appeals agenda for Oct 5, 2026.

### Where does this data come from?

Boardwalk's Rockford projects come from public meeting records, such as City of Rockford Zoning Board of Appeals agendas and minutes. Each one links to the original filing.

### How current is it?

Boardwalk checks Rockford's public records at least once a week; the last check was Oct 12, 2026. These counts are as of Oct 11, 2026 and refresh monthly.

### Can I get an Alert for new Rockford projects?

Yes, a Boardwalk Alert emails you new Rockford projects daily, weekly, or monthly. Start with a 7-day free trial, no credit card needed.

## Get the full data

- **Count for free.** Connect Boardwalk to Claude or ChatGPT and ask how many projects match. Counting is free during your trial and on every plan. [Use it in Claude or ChatGPT](https://boardwalkai.com/mcp/)
- **Open the records.** Start a 7-day free trial, no credit card. It includes 50 project records. [Start free trial](https://boardwalkai.com/auth/signup/)
- **Use it in your tools.** CSV export, the API, and the MCP server come with every plan. [API docs](https://boardwalkai.com/docs/api/)
- **Download these numbers.** [rockford.json](https://boardwalkai.com/data/places/illinois/rockford.json) · [rockford.md](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/rockford/index.md)

## How to cite

Source: Boardwalk, "Planned developments in Rockford, IL", boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/rockford/, data as of Oct 11, 2026.

How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count
