# Planned developments in DeKalb County, IL

Boardwalk found 220+ planned projects in DeKalb County, IL in public filings from the last 12 months, mostly infrastructure. The latest is on the City of Sycamore Planning and Zoning Commission agenda for Sep 14, 2026.

Data as of Oct 11, 2026. Updated monthly. Page: https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/dekalb/

## DeKalb County at a glance

| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Projects, last 12 months | 220+ |
| New in the last 30 days | 6 |
| Most common type | Infrastructure |
| Latest filing | Sep 14, 2026, City of Sycamore Planning and Zoning Commission |
| Sources we check | 2 |

Last 12 months, duplicates merged. Includes private, public, and small jobs. How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count

## Looking for the City of DeKalb?

[DeKalb, IL](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/dekalb-city/) · 83 projects

## What's planned in DeKalb County

By type, last 12 months.

| Type | Projects | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Infrastructure | 110+ | 51% |
| Development decisions | 36 | 16% |
| Commercial | 27 | 12% |
| Public and institutional | 21 | 9% |
| Residential | 18 | 8% |
| Industrial | 8 | 4% |

## Recent projects in DeKalb County

| Project | Location | Developer | Type | Size | Stage | Latest meeting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Map Amendment for 2525 Bethany Road | Sycamore, IL | Oak Street Properties, LLC | Commercial | Not stated in filing | Seeking approval | Sep 14, 2026 |
| 160-Acre Kishwaukee Area Reliability Expansion Substation | DeKalb County, IL | Commonwealth Edison Company | Substations | 160 acres | Approved | Aug 24, 2026 |
| Commercial Development at County Line Road and Route 38 | Maple Park, IL | FHS Development | Commercial | Not stated in filing | Early planning | Aug 3, 2026 |
| 10,000-Square-Foot DG Market Retail Store | Maple Park, IL | FHS Development | Grocery stores | Not stated in filing | Early planning | Jul 21, 2026 |
| Industrial Circuits Phase 1 Building Addition | Kirkland, IL | Rockford Structures Construction Company | Industrial | Not stated in filing | Seeking approval | Jul 20, 2026 |
| 5-Megawatt Solar Farm on 28.8 Acres | Cortland, IL | Apex Clean Energy | Power plants | 77.5 acres | Recommended | Jul 13, 2026 |
| 77.54-Acre Solar Farm | Cortland, IL | Grand Prairie Solar, LLC | Power plants | 77.5 acres | Seeking approval | Jul 13, 2026 |
| 35-Acre Public Transit Facility | DeKalb County, IL | Not stated | Transportation | 35 acres | Continued | Jul 6, 2026 |
| 116-Space Parking Lot and Sanctuary Expansion | DeKalb County, IL | Hillcrest Covenant Church | Places of worship | Not stated in filing | Seeking approval | Jun 22, 2026 |
| Park 88 - Unit 5 Manufacturing Facility | DeKalb County, IL | Park 88 Group LLC | Industrial | Not stated in filing | Approved | Jun 22, 2026 |
| 19-Unit Apartment Conversion of Former School | Sycamore, IL | BCM Industrial Park 2, LLC | Apartments | 19 apartments · 1.63 acres | Seeking approval | May 18, 2026 |
| 80.33-Acre Solar Garden | Cortland, IL | SolarStone Partners | Utilities | 80.3 acres | Approved | Apr 27, 2026 |

Showing 12 of 220+ projects. A free trial opens the full records and documents.

Samples show projects filed by companies or public bodies.

## Cities in DeKalb County

- [DeKalb, IL](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/dekalb-city/) · 83 projects
- [Cortland, IL](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/cortland/) · 42 projects
- Waterman, IL · 19 projects
- Sycamore, IL · 18 projects
- Maple Park, IL · 15 projects
- Shabbona, IL · 15 projects
- Kirkland, IL · 13 projects
- Genoa, IL · 11 projects
- Malta, IL · 4 projects
- Kingston, IL · 2 projects
- Lee, IL · 2 projects
- Somonauk, IL · 1 project
- Hinckley, IL · Checked, no projects in 12 months

## Nearby places

- [Kane County, IL](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/kane/) · 670+ projects
- [Kendall County, IL](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/kendall/) · 190+ projects
- [LaSalle County, IL](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/lasalle/) · 420+ projects
- [DuPage County, IL](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/dupage/) · 2,000+ projects
- [Lee County, IL](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/lee/) · 100+ projects
- [Ogle County, IL](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/ogle/) · 340+ projects

All places in Illinois: [Illinois](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/)

## Questions about DeKalb County

### What's planned in DeKalb County, IL?

Boardwalk found 220+ planned projects in DeKalb County, IL in the last 12 months, mostly infrastructure. The latest is on the City of Sycamore Planning and Zoning Commission agenda for Sep 14, 2026.

### Where does this data come from?

Boardwalk's DeKalb County projects come from public meeting records, such as City of Sycamore Planning and Zoning Commission agendas and minutes. Each one links to the original filing.

### How current is it?

Boardwalk checks DeKalb County's public records at least once a week; the last check was Oct 11, 2026. These counts are as of Oct 11, 2026 and refresh monthly.

### Can I get an Alert for new DeKalb County projects?

Yes, a Boardwalk Alert emails you new DeKalb County projects daily, weekly, or monthly. Start with a 7-day free trial, no credit card needed.

## Get the full data

- **Count for free.** Connect Boardwalk to Claude or ChatGPT and ask how many projects match. Counting is free during your trial and on every plan. [Use it in Claude or ChatGPT](https://boardwalkai.com/mcp/)
- **Open the records.** Start a 7-day free trial, no credit card. It includes 50 project records. [Start free trial](https://boardwalkai.com/auth/signup/)
- **Use it in your tools.** CSV export, the API, and the MCP server come with every plan. [API docs](https://boardwalkai.com/docs/api/)
- **Download these numbers.** [dekalb.json](https://boardwalkai.com/data/places/illinois/dekalb.json) · [dekalb.md](https://boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/dekalb/index.md)

## How to cite

Source: Boardwalk, "Planned developments in DeKalb County, IL", boardwalkai.com/development/illinois/dekalb/, data as of Oct 11, 2026.

How we count: https://boardwalkai.com/coverage/#how-we-count
